top of page

New Year, New Goals, Same Trauma


It's 2023 baby! I can't believe how fast the year flew by. I have stayed off of social media because I don't want to hear all the "new year, new me" garbage. All the new year resolutions (made with good intentions) that fizzle out within the first week or the first month. It's exhausting trying to change everything and go gung-ho in a matter of days. It is unlikely that true change will happen that way. It's all about mindset. If you still have negative self-talk, you are not changing those habits just because it's a new year.


A new year also doesn't change what's going on in your life. A new year can mean for some that the grief/loss they just experienced won't go away in the new year. The trauma they dealt with is still going to be there. The heartache, the pain, the loneliness, the devastation, and the guilt will still be there. All of that doesn't go away. A new year doesn't change your circumstances.


In theory, the new year, new me mentality is a nice thought, but here's the deal. Every day is a new day! Every day you get to start fresh. The only difference is the hype of it all. So why not create excitement for yourself? Tomorrow is a new day! Celebrate that! Get excited, create lists and make bite-sized goals, short and long-term goals. Don't let it be all or nothing mentality. Throw that mindset out the window, and take it slow. If you mess up one day, or even two, who cares! Keep trying. Give yourself grace and keep moving forward.


My realtor gave me the best advice last year. He told me life is like you are climbing a mountain. Unexpected things get put in your way, and life doesn't go perfectly, but you keep climbing. Instead of falling back down the mountain when a storm hits, you take a step sideways. So instead of stepping backward, you are zigzagging your way to the top. Backward steps no longer exist. Be a sidestepper. Sidesteppers are continually moving upward.


So take this new year and all your goals, and start slow. All or nothing mentality will automatically lead you to failure. You need room to learn and grow.


If you are in survivor mode and can't even think about new goals, it's okay. Different seasons of life bring different challenges and emotions. Give yourself grace. You have to take it one day at a time. Maybe one day you take a shower, eat a healthy meal, or you didn't yell at your kids. All of those things are HUGE! You should be proud of yourself. You have to start small and celebrate the small wins. Those things may not seem big or matter to anyone else. Make them Big and make them Matter to You! I promise it will change you day by day, little by little. Eventually, you will start being able to make bigger changes.


Trust me. I've been there. I never thought I would be able to get out of my depression. Make the Dr. Appointment, take your medicine, and stay hydrated. You can do this!


I believe in you.


I am here for you, and I am rooting for you always.


You got this!


Reach out if you need a little support or encouragement.


You don't have to walk this path alone.


I love you!


I am proud of you!


Much Love,

Tiffany



bottom of page